“Beag air Bheag”

This week there was a linguistics question on University Challenge.

“Colourless green ideas sleep furiously”
Noam Chomsky, 1957.

This made me very excited because I knew the answer,
and I like knowing the answer because University Challenge is hard.
Especially when they play opera snippets,
like an intro’s round for the bourgeois…
or the kids from Made in Chelsea.
(You couldn’t get two more different TV shows.)

Monday’s show also had a few of those (classical music ditties),
naming the title and Asian country in which the opera is set.
I got the first two countries right,
(China and Japan)
but everyone knew I was just guessing.
I’m going to attribute it to all the pub quizzes I’ve been to recently.
Like they say, everyday’s a school day!

"Beag air Bheag" (little by little)

"Beag air Bheag" (little by little)

I’ve also been browsing (BBC) Beag air Bheag,
Scottish Gaelic for Beginners.
So far I’ve mastered, “how are you?”
and, “I’m fine, thank you.”

I’ve also been let in on a bit of Doric
whilst staying in Aberdeen.
“Fit?”
I’ll save that for another day.

Write back (you don't even need a stamp!)

