Word of the Week: “ken”

Have you met “ken”?

ken?

ken?

If not, say hello to my
Wednesday Word of the Week!
To ken something; to “know” or “understand” it.

A few examples I’ve heard whilst living in Aberdeen:

“D’ ye ken?”
(“Do you know/understand?”)

“I dinnae ken”
(“I don’t know”)

And another that took a bit more thinking for me to work out!

“Ken fit I mean?”
(“Know what I mean?”)

I didn’t KEN that one for a while…

Next Wednesday: Back for (s)more(n)!

Write back (you don't even need a stamp!)

