Square sausages and other things that are different from home

So I’ve lived in Scotland for almost a year now.
In that time,
every so often,
I’ve been struck by what I like to call
a “we don’t have that at home!” moment.
Catchy I know.

Ever the tourist
writing my postcards home,
I thought I’d share a few of the best ones
I’ve experienced so far.
Square sausages and other things
that are different from home…

Hello Scotland!

Hello Scotland!

Sausages are square!
Straight to the point,
I’ll repeat it, sausages are square.
Okay so you can get regular ones too,
but why would you?!
These are square!
Squasages if you will.
I do.

Fish and chips = “fish supper”
Oh and sausage and chips is a “sausage supper”,
and haggis and chips is a “haggis supper”,
and so on and so forth.
(Also, there’s batter on everything!
In a fish and chip shop at least,
a batter-free world lies beyond.)

Your shopping = your “messages”
I got in a confusion with this one.
My boyfriend’s grandmother
told us all about her kind neighbour,
who was very thoughtful
in asking if she needed someone
to pick up her messages from the supermarket.
“Messages at the supermarket?”,
I thought,
“Who’s leaving messages for Innes’ granny at the supermarket?”
Either this is one big cover up for something more exciting,
or yes, “messages” = “shopping”.
I’m happy to accept the latter.

Eye tests are free
Nice work, Scotland.

4 responses to “Square sausages and other things that are different from home

  1. Searched for blogs with Aberdeen-tags and found yours! I have yet to try the square sausages, I’m from Finland and studying here in Aberdeen first year. 🙂 The accent is so hard!

Write back (you don't even need a stamp!)

